Finish: Big Swoon

Back when many in blogland were doing the Swoon Along (the host blog has been disabled), I had the same problem as Camille Roskelley: I liked them ALL! I stumbled upon the QAL too late to really join in, but thought I would make my own Swoon quilt one day. I just could never settle on the colors.

Then my sister was planning one for herself. She needed some help with the quilt math (more my strength than hers). So I sat down and drafted the block on graph paper and worked out the numbers for her and we talked about techniques to make the process as easy as possible. (She’s new to quilting.)

During that process, I needed to color in the shapes to keep things straight in my head. So I walked into my nephew’s room and picked up the first two markers I found: bright orange and teal. I came home and returned to my own projects, but I couldn’t get that little paper Swoon block out of my head. I was in love with that color combo. So I had my sister text me a photo of the block I’d drawn.

graphpaperswoon

She texted me the photo on December 1, 2015. Isn’t it lovely how our handheld technology can tell us when stuff happened?

Then I decided I only wanted to make one block. One really big block. So I played around with it on my Quilt-Pro software. I did it in a couple of other colorways, just to be sure. I also swapped the positions of the orange and teal, but I still came back to the graph paper original.

swoondesign

Sorry about the sideways-ness of it all.

In no time I’d pulled a bunch of fabrics from my stash.

swoonpull

Some editing happened after this, but it’s pretty close.

And a few days later I’d cut everything out.

swoonblocks

Yes, this was all from my stash. Which either means that I have too much fabric, or that my stash is perfect. 😀

And less than two weeks later I was at this stage, with all my HSTs sewn and my layout finalized. I was feeling pretty good about all this, since I had a newborn at that time. I thought I’d have the top all stitched together by the time my MIL was due to move in in the spring of 2016. Hahaha!

swoonlayout

And then it took me another year to finish it! Oh plans, you’re such a good thing to have. I finally delivered the finished top and back to my long-armer in early February. It was supposed to be my February finish, in line with my 2017 goal of one finish each month, but then I got a nasty cold virus and I didn’t finish the binding until March 1. Close enough. 😉

I’ll just finish off this post with some slideshow images of the completed quilt and wish you all happy sewing!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh! I also finished the top for my grandmother’s quilt in February. My aim is to have it be my April finish.

001

Grandma’s Stash–for real! 🙂

Linking up with TGIFF! Celtic Thistle Stitches is hosting this week, and taught me something! I’d seen Boutis before, but didn’t know what it was called. I think her first project turned out beautifully. Go check it out!

tgiff-button-blog

5 thoughts on “Finish: Big Swoon

Leave a Reply

