Color Challenge: Blue

colorwidgetThe Factotum of Arts challenge color for March is blue. My favorite(s). Blues of all shades, hues, and levels of saturation. Quilts I’ve made that don’t have blue in them are rare, and a fair percentage are dominated by blue, but I knew I wouldn’t have time to finish any of my existing WIPs for the challenge. Serendipity saved the day when a good friend tagged me in a Facebook post showing off the spring display window of a local antique shop. I plugged one of the photos into the palette builder at Play Crafts and came up with this:

11059527_1092458424138981_6329824677498103511_n-palette

That same friend had a birthday on March 20, and I know she’s been crushing hard on similar palettes lately. So, I decided to kill two porcelain parakeets with one clumsy bump of the hip and made my first zipper pouch.

029

I used the box pouch tutorial at The Seasoned Homemaker, although I increased the size to accommodate the paper pieced inserts I made.

The flying geese units finished at two inches wide by one inch high. I forgot to measure the size of the completed bag before gifting it to my friend, but I’m guesstimating 10.5 x 7 x 3 inches.

034

I also forgot to take a picture with the zipper open to show off the lining fabric–a cream ground with light blue and lime green squiggle-stripes.

031

If I were to make it again, I would make it a bit deeper, or take the dimensions back down to those recommended by the tutorial. At this size, the depth is a bit awkward. As my MIL said, it looks a bit like an old-fashioned tissue box cover. Haha! Also, I had never paper pieced anything this small. I feel like my seam allowances are disproportionately large and therefore noticeable in the finished product. It could just be due to the Pellon backing, but before I do it again, I will spend some time seeking out tips from people who frequently make small paper pieced things.

040

Those small critiques aside, I am pleased with the result, and it was the perfect size for two bags of Dove chocolates and a birthday card. Priorities, people! Also, all the fabrics came from my stash, but I did have to buy a sky blue zipper.

Be sure to check out the color series at Factotum of Arts yourself, as well as the guest posts. This month’s is from Ants to Sugar, and I am completely in love with her Little Tents quilt. It has officially been added to my “must make” list.

 

One thought on “Color Challenge: Blue

Leave a Reply

