Sunday Stash: I caved.

I had not purchased any fabric since before Christmas. I had been tempted many times but resisted. I was kind of proud of myself. Then I had the opportunity to join the Portland Modern Quilt Guild (Yay! I’m so excited that my work schedule finally allows for this!), and while killing time before the start of my first meeting, I wandered into Modern Domestic, an LQS down the street. When I learned that they offer a 20% discount to members on meeting days, I was done for.

006

I grabbed a couple of fat quarters from Anna Maria Horner’s Fib’s and Fables line, to use in the planned quilt I wrote of in my last Sunday Stash post. I chose the Pegasus in aqua, well, because it’s Pegasus in aqua.  😉 I chose the second for the colors and that lovely little threaded needle. I’ll have to be sure not to chop it up.

I did exhibit more restraint than is my norm, especially given that I’d been “fasting” for more than two months. I need to get comfortable with restraint, though, given that I’m no longer working full time while Little WIP is still a baby. The simple fact is that I don’t have the fabric budget that I used to.

009

I picked up half-yard cuts of these two fabrics from my yellow mosaic in February. I’ve decided to make the quilt, though I haven’t chosen a design yet. Lower left is Drift in Pink from Rain Walk by Anna Graham for Cloud 9. Upper right is Village in Mustard from Alison Glass’ Abacus collection.

Though it’s not like I don’t have plenty of lovely stuff to work from in my stash already. I was already thinking along these lines when I stumbled across the Stash Manifesto at A Quarter Inch from the Edge back in January. While I doubt that I will put a manifesto of my own in writing, I am trying to be mindful of things like Jenn’s Articles 3 and 4 each time I think about buying fabric. In essence, using what I have to start new projects, and reining in my “recreational fabric shopping.”

012

My low-volume stash is small and lacks variety. It consists of mostly grey on white or white on grey. These are an attempt to remedy that without going overboard: Two more Alison Glass prints (Mercury in Cobalt and Grow in Sky) and one Jennifer Sampou from her Studio Stash 3 collection. Going overboard would be purchasing Grow in every color. I love it so much. It speaks to the biologist in me.

Another concept that is part of my unwritten manifesto is that I hope to actually get started–and maybe finish!–many of the projects that are already fully formed ideas. By this I mean I’ve already settled on the quilt design and pulled the fabrics I want to use and they are sitting in pretty piles waiting for some attention from my rotary cutter and sewing machine. Sigh.

Linking up with Sunday Stash, hosted this week by Patchwork and Pastry. Oh, and a pic of Little WIP because some days I just can’t resist. 😉

005

One thought on “Sunday Stash: I caved.

Leave a Reply

