TGIFF: Grow

I first mentioned this quilt as a WIP here, here, and here. It is the Beanstalks pattern from the book “Quilts from the House of Tula Pink.” In fact, it’s on the cover.

016

Apologies for the lighting. It’s been pouring rain for days.

It is for a very dear friend of nearly thirty (!!!) years, though we don’t get to see each other much since she lives in Brazil and I am in the United States. I met her during my junior year in high school as a Rotary Youth Exchange student. She worked as the maid/caretaker for one of my host grandmothers. She taught me how to speak her language so well that I confused people: “You have the face of an American, but you sound like a Brazilian!” She is a master at appreciating what she has while working toward something better. She loves her family and friends with zero reservations or judgements. She is one of the best examples of a human that I have ever met, and I am so glad she is my friend.

Cida papay2

She also introduced me to ripe papaya, fresh off the tree.

Two years ago, she won a house. You read that right. She WON. A. HOUSE! This quilt was supposed to be a housewarming gift, but due to life and stuff, it’s taken me a long-ass time to get it done.

010

As with most of my quilts, the fabrics in this one are a mix of new purchases and things that had been in my stash for up to 15 years. The background is Moda Marble Dots in Natural. It’s quilted with a hot pink and yellow variegated thread in a floral motif. Originally I wanted butterflies in either a cream or variegated orange thread, but the butterflies I found were too juvenile, and the other threads seemed boring.

029

Notes for Next Time:

  1. Select the recommended quantities of fabric in the pattern, but begin by only cutting and making the.  strip sets and wedges from about two thirds of it. With this quilt, I cut all of my strips at once, and once they were stitched together I cut them all into wedges. This created two problems for me. First, as the long wedge assemblies grew, I sometimes found it difficult to keep them straight-ish and wished that I had set some strip sets aside where I could cut a wedge with the angle I needed to re-align things. Second, in spite of re-reading the instructions several times to make sure I was doing it right, I ended up with a huge number of extra wedges. I see this as fabric wasted, and that makes me sad. I did employ a good number of them on the back, but what you see in the flower/sunburst is less than half of the excess wedges. Again–sad. 027
  2. I would also increase the size of my wedges. The pattern recommends a minimum of 1.5 inches for the narrow end and a maximum of 4.5 inches for the wide end. I would bump this to at least 2 and 5 inches, and I’d cut a few as wide as 6 at the wide end. Variety is good.
  3. Finally, I would select a center stalk fabric that was more similar in value to the fabrics in my wedges. I love that green, but it’s stronger than I wanted it to be in this setting.

Do you own this book? Have you made any of the quilts? What was your experience with the pattern/instructions? There are several more I’d like to tackle, but my stack of ideas is already as big as my WIP list. You can relate, right? 😉

034

“Grow” finished at 74 inches by 87 inches prior to quilting and washing. It is now 72 by 84.

Linking up to Thank Goodness It’s Finished Friday, hosted this week by Sunlight in Winter Quilts.

tgiff-button-blog

5 thoughts on “TGIFF: Grow

  1. It is a wonderful quilt for a wonderful friend. You have blogged a great tribute to your friend. Love the hints about making the quilt. I’m too lazy to cut everything all at once which is often beneficial.

  2. Your friend sounds delightful. How terrific for you that you have stayed friends over the years! I too absolutely hate to waste fabric. I also have little patience and often cut only a bit before I start sewing so I suppose I would have been able to make adjustments to that pattern as I went along. The quilt however is super gorgeous and it’s photo is what brought me here from TGIFF. So no regrets sweetie! As for the leftovers perhaps a pieced pillowcase for your friend? Or you could combine them with different colored wedges and get a bonus quilt! Happy days in any case. Great job.

  3. Lisa says:

    I love this quilt and how it turned out. No I don’t own the book but I might like to try making this quilt. You have a very good analysis of what you would like to do differently in a future quilt which is very interesting to read…makes me think. I think you could use more of those leftover wedges to make more starbursts for the front of a quilt, perhaps , and yes I always have more ideas for quilts than time. Thanks for linking up to TGIFF.

Leave a Reply

