WIP Wednedsay: The Stalks are Growing

My primary goal over the past week was to get my wedges stitched together for the Tula Pink Beanstalks quilt I’m working on. 008

Having accomplished that, I hemmed a pair of work pants that I’d purchased something like six months ago. Embarrassing. And there’s another pair waiting.

Then I wanted something quick and fun and NOT beanstalks, so I took a look at Sarah’s September palette for #opgivewarmth. The Pirate Block from 13 Spools had been on my mind since I stumbled across the tutorial earlier this summer, so it seemed a “two birds, one stone” kind of moment. Here’s what I came up with:001Adorable, right? However, the first time I read through the tutorial, I didn’t really pay attention to how teeny tiny those finished squares are. One half inch by one half inch doesn’t leave much room to press your seams open, but it is quite excellent for using up very small scraps. As much as I really do love the end result, I’m going to try up-sizing it just a bit on the next go. I’ll aim for the smaller squares to finish at 3/4 inch. Could be a complete failure.  😀  I’ll let you know either way.

As always, I’m linking up to Freshly Pieced. There’s always so much good stuff to see at the link-up! Plus the chance to win quilting goodies.

WIP Wednesday

6 thoughts on “WIP Wednedsay: The Stalks are Growing

Leave a Reply

