Someone is loved.

This is what 49 QAYG blocks look like all in one stack.

The block on top was made using an orphan flower from my Radiant Orchid challenge quilt, Rainy Day Garden. And no, I haven't finished that one, either.  ;)

The block on top was made using an orphan flower from my Radiant Orchid challenge quilt, Rainy Day Garden. And no, I haven’t finished that one, either. 😉

I finally boxed them all up and sent them off to Alison for her Soy Amado project. Yes, I am very late in doing so. Something strange was happening in the interwebs and my comments were not showing up on her blog for a long time. By the time I succeeded in contacting her, she had already reached her project goal. In spite of that, she agreed to take them. I don’t know if they’ll end up as Soy Amado quilts, or if she’ll utilize them for another group in need, but I’m excited to see what other blocks they get combined with. They should arrive on Alison’s “Little Island” today or perhaps early next week. So you’ll have to keep an eye on her blog for the “real” finishes.

Since I hadn’t photographed them earlier, here are some of the last few blocks I quilted to complete the stack:

I didn't want to let this one get girly, so I kept the quilting simple. It ended up reminding me of Tron lines, though.  :D

I didn’t want to let this one get girly, so I kept the quilting simple. It ended up reminding me of Tron lines, though. 😀

To quilt this block, I attempted to imitate the design from the Quill fabric (part of Valori Wells' collection) in the center.

To quilt this block, I attempted to imitate the design from the Quill fabric (part of Valori Wells’ collection) in the center.

The quilting shows up better on the backs of these two: spirals practice and Leah Day's Heart Confetti. I'm not generally a heart kind of girl, but I really like the way this turned out AND it was super easy.

The quilting shows up better on the backs of these two: spirals practice and Leah Day’s Heart Confetti. I’m not generally a heart kind of girl, but I really like the texture this design created AND it was super easy.

I also finished adding borders to my VOWIP. I decided that my aunt would like it better this way. So the top is now done and I am piecing the back.001

That’s it this week, but I’m sooooo close to finishes on two other quilts. I hope to have at least one of those to share next week. Linking up to TGIFF, hosted this week at Quilt Matters.tgiff-button-blog

8 thoughts on “Someone is loved.

    • Thank you so much! It’s definitely a skill in progress, but on a small scale like this it was a lot easier to play around–especially without all the bulk of a full quilt to wrestle around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

