VOWIP

We–or maybe just I?–need a new acronym. Very Old Work In Progress. Only because So Old I’m Embarrassed To Admit It Work In Progress is too cumbersome. I don’t even know how I’d pronounce SOIETAIWIP, so VOWIP it is.

Anyhoo. My best guess at the age of this WIP is eight years. It might be as much as ten. Yikes! These blocks were originally destined to be a quilt that would coordinate with the eggplant-colored sofas of a best friend.

Paper-pieced designs from Carol Doak's "40 Bright & Bold Paper-Pieced Blocks."

Paper-pieced designs from Carol Doak’s “40 Bright & Bold Paper-Pieced Blocks.”

Before I could finish, she met her Mr. Right. When they moved in together, he “made” her get rid of the purple sofas (too feminine), she “made” him get rid of the nasty-gross thing he’d been sitting on, and they bought something they both liked. Lovely for them, but bad for me–the new sofa was not going to look good with these fabrics. So the whole thing got sidelined.

Fast-forward to a couple months ago, and a comment by my mom provided me with an idea to re-purpose these into a gift for one of my aunts. She did all of the printing for my wedding in 2012 and would not let me pay for any of it. An incredible gift, right? Right!

So, I grabbed the blocks and all the fabric I’d stored with them and made two more  on Saturday for a total of nine.005 004Then I spent much of Sunday (more than three movies!) removing the paper backing from each one. BTW, does anyone else despise this part of the paper-piecing process? I love the end result, but egads! I detest that stage.

While doing that, I discovered some incredibly scant seams hiding under all that paper.

Yowza! I still have plenty of that green fabric left over, so I have no clue why I didn't just cut larger pieces!  :P

Yowza! I still have plenty of that green fabric left over, so I have no clue why I didn’t just cut larger pieces! 😛

Here’s what I decided to do to reinforce those seams.

I very, very narrowly top-stitched around the scant triangles.

I very, very narrowly top-stitched around the scant triangles.

Here’s a good tip from Lily’s Quilts if you have to fix one yourself. I skipped the interfacing this time because I felt I had just enough fabric that it wasn’t necessary.

Monday I cut setting squares and began stitching them together with the pieced blocks and finished this much of the flimsy yesterday.

This is more traditional than most things I make these days, and the only sampler quilt I've made to date.

This is more traditional than most things I make these days, and the only sampler quilt I’ve made to date.

Now I’m trying to decide whether to add borders. I kind of dig it like this, but my aunt’s tastes are more traditional (thus the reason this was perfect for her), and I feel like she might see it as “missing something.” Opinions?

Also since last Wednesday’s post, I got all of my Beanstalk strip sets sewn together. Now I’m just waiting for more of the background fabric to arrive in the mail. Heh. Bit of a mistake caused the need for that, but you’ll keep my secret, right?002

As always, I’m linking up with Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday. (Never mind! Lee’s on vacation! Good for her!) May all your WIP’s and VOWIP’s become finishes!WIP Wednesday

One thought on “VOWIP

Leave a Reply

