Terra Australis

In my twenties, I was fortunate enough to win a scholarship to study in Australia. I lived in Sydney and attended the University of New South Wales. Exploring the city, dancing my weekends away in its nightclubs, traveling to other iconic places like Melbourne, Alice Springs, Darwin, and Frazier Island, playing rugby, seeing the penguin parade on Phillip Island, petting ridiculously soft Eastern Grey Kangaroos, snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef–I even managed to squeeze in enough studying to earn a master’s degree–it was an incomparable year.

So, when I first learned of Emma Jean Jansen’s “Terra Australis” line for Ella Blue, I knew I HAD to have it. I waited patiently for it to show up here in the states. Then one happy day I received an email from Hawthorne Threads. Yippee! But I wasn’t quick enough. By the time I had a moment to sit down and place an order, they’d already sold out of most things. So I had to be patient again.

A few weeks ago I had some downtime at work and happened to be perusing quilting sites when I discovered that Hawthorne Threads had everything in stock again–and lots of it! I’m only slightly embarrassed to say I went hedgehog wild. 😉 I bought the fat quarter bundles in both colourways (gotta have the “u” in there, since we’re talking about Australia), plus more yardage of my favorites. It was a major splurge, but I recently paid off my car, so justification was easy-peasy. (Hah! As if I ever really have trouble “justifying” a fabric purchase.)

FQ bundle in the "Eucalyptus" palette--lovely bright pinks and greens and turquoises.

FQ bundle in the “Eucalyptus” palette–lovely bright pinks and greens and turquoises.

LOVE the giant Warratah flower print.

LOVE the giant Warratah flower print.

Who can resist kangaroos?

Who can resist kangaroos?

FQ bundle in the "Outback" palette--light aqua, orange, and gray.

FQ bundle in the “Outback” palette–light aqua, orange, and gray.

I bought enough of the Warratah print in this colorway to back a quilt--or at least most of a quilt, depending on the size. :)

I bought enough of the Warratah print in this colorway to back a quilt–or at least most of a quilt, depending on the size. 🙂

The "Spinning Gums" and "Grevillia" prints are perfect reminders of all the weirdly wonderful flora of Oz.

The “Spinning Gums” and “Grevillia” prints are perfect reminders of all the weirdly wonderful flora of Oz.

I have about a hundred Sydney Harbour Bridge photos. It is beautiful. I love that this print is reminiscent without replicating the bridge in exact architectural form.

I have about a hundred Sydney Harbour Bridge photos. It is beautiful. I love that this print is reminiscent without replicating the bridge in exact architectural form.

I have absolutely no clue yet what I’ll do with these fabrics beyond “make a quilt–or two.” Emma Jean Jansen has plenty of inspiration on her site, but I’ll mull it over for a bit before making a decision. Regardless, I know I will love it for all the memories these fabrics inspire for me.

Linking up with Molli Sparkles for Sunday Stash–’cause Molli’s place is always where the party’s happening.

molli_sparkles_sunday_stash_button

9 thoughts on “Terra Australis

  1. It’s so satisfying to find something when you’ve given up on ever getting hold of some – no wonder you were excited. With all this you should be able to make something lovely.

  2. I’m so glad to hear you have such fond memories of Australia! That’s how I found myself here too; I did my masters program at the University of Sydney but I also did a study abroad program at the University of New South Wales. Can’t wait to see what you do with this amazing fabric!

Leave a Reply

