Kay is for Quality

Today’s finish is a retirement gift for the manager of our blood bank. At 60-something, this woman has more energy and drive than anyone I’ve ever known. (She did her first sprint triathlon at 60!!) Over the course of three decades, she has created and implemented a quality program that is unsurpassed. This is pretty much the safest place you could possibly get a transfusion. I am so glad to have had the opportunity to learn from her/work for her/be inspired by her.

Based on Lee Heinrich’s Sugar Snow pattern, most of the blocks were made by co-workers while I assembled the top and back. I also printed a personalized label with the names of all the co-workers who made the quilt possible, either by sewing or chipping in for materials.

I changed Lee's design just a smidge--she has two half-blocks which I left out. Instead I had my co-workers make only whole star blocks.

I changed Lee’s design just a smidge–she has two half-blocks which I left out. Instead I had my co-workers make only whole star blocks.

The back is a Violet Craft print from her Waterfront Park line in navy blue.

The back is a Violet Craft print from her Waterfront Park line in navy blue.

I found a photo of red blood cells online and used it for the background of the label.

I found a photo of red blood cells online and used it for the background of the label.

A close-up of the quilting pre-wash.

A close-up of the quilting pre-wash.

Quilting post-wash.

Quilting post-wash.

Her first glimpse of the label.

Her first glimpse of the label.

The unfurling. She loved it! :)

The unfurling. She loved it! đŸ™‚

Linking up today with Quokka Quilts, hosting TGIFF (or at least the dog is–adorable!).tgiff-button-blog

Leave a Reply

