I think I can, I think I can

Deadline, shmeadline. I can do this!

Sugar Snow in blue

Sugar Snow in blue

Each of the participants in this retirement gift project got their blocks to me with plenty of time to get them stitched up with the solid background fabric. I have to say I was pretty impressed with the quality of the blocks, considering the wide range of sewing experience in the group. A couple blocks ended up with the locations of the green & white fabrics swapped, and a couple others have the pinwheel turning in the opposite direction, but without those little differences it wouldn’t look like the collaborative effort that it is. 🙂 I delivered it to the long-armer yesterday morning. By the time I get it back I may have to do an all-night binding session in order to be ready to gift it at the party next week, but let’s hope not. If I pretend that I possess time-management skills and have my binding ready to go before I pick it up, I’ll be golden. 😉

Once I delivered that to the quilter, I began cutting out the pieces for my MIL’s quilt. I’m using Julie Herman‘s Lotus pattern, as I think it will appeal to my MIL and show off the contrast in her “true red and deep teal” color scheme. Plus it’s just a beautiful pattern.

The first jewel shapes. The Daylilies fabric had been in my stash for awhile, just waiting for the perfect project.

The first jewel shapes. The Daylilies fabric had been in my stash for awhile, just waiting for the perfect project.

By next week I should have a finish, and (I hope) some significant progress on this quilt to share. Her birthday is at the end of August, so I’m setting myself another deadline.

Joining the link-up at Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday.WIP Wednesday

 

4 thoughts on “I think I can, I think I can

Leave a Reply

