My First Hexies

If any of you has read me more than once, you may be getting sick of the Soy Amado blocks. But as one commenter pointed out, they are addictive. Plus, I still haven’t managed to demolish my scrap pile the way I’d hoped. AND they are a really, really great way to experiment with new techniques. This week I decided to tackle hexagons. I know, I am late to this party. No one really seems to be doing them right now, but I was busy with other projects last year when everyone else was making hexies, so here I am. šŸ˜€

At first I was feeling unsure, so I chickened out and made a wonky-hexy-cabin.001Then I got irritated with myself–I stitched more complicated seams back in my garment-sewing days, why am I hesitant about this? So I joined three and appliqued them on a background. And I was right to be irritated with me. The prints may make it hard to see, but that Y-seam looks fabulous, and lays perfectly flat.004I shouldn’t have been so cocky. The first attempt at an entire block was only mostly successful.005The poor bunnies are puckered, and I have no idea what I was thinking when it came to the off-centered-ness of it all. If I wanted to let myself off the hook, I would say that I didn’t realize the hexagons weren’t quite exactly the same size, as they came from different sources. Some were swag from Portland SewDown, some were from a Simply Style Honeycomb pre-cut, and some I cut from scraps using the template that came with the pre-cuts. But I shouldn’t let myself off the hook, because pretty much every hexagon tutorial I’ve seen mentions how much easier this is if you are careful with your cutting. And since that applies to pretty much everything quilty, I know better!

Well, I learned from my mistake, with this lovely result:006I feel good enough about this to think I may actually tackle a larger hexagon project. (That is, after all, why I bought the Honeycomb in the first place, so it’s time to follow through!)

Linking up with Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday.WIP Wednesday

13 thoughts on “My First Hexies

  1. stephanieboon says:

    They look lovely! I’m working on a grandma’s flower garden quilt and finished the hexie section recently, by hand though not machine. I don’t worry overly about a wee bit of puckering, it gets lost in the quilting anyway…I hope!!! Hope you go on to make some more!

    • I am so jealous of people who do good hand-work, and even more jealous if you are fast at it. šŸ˜‰ I feel very slow at it, and I’m rarely pleased with my results, so I stick to my trusty machine. šŸ˜€

      • stephanieboon says:

        I love the fact that I can take a few hexies anywhere with me to sew by hand and know that the project is coming along! I don’t know if I’m fast or not, but the time seems to disappear!!!

  2. Nancy W. says:

    Well, I’m late to the hexie party as well but I am going to make some this summer. Yours are wonderful. You should stick with it.

    • Hee! I don’t know. It was a pre-cut piece from my swag at the Portland SewDown. I can contact the woman who put that particular kit together, if you like. She imports a lot of Japanese fabrics, so I’m guessing that would be why I’ve never seen it elsewhere….

Leave a Reply

