Collecting Pretty

I’d been “good” the last several months. By that I mean I’d only purchased fabric intended with specific, already-planned projects, as opposed to purchasing fabric for the pure joy of buying something pretty for my collection of pretty.Ā  šŸ˜‰

Then Fat Quarter Shop sent me an email bemoaning how long it had been since my last order with them, and enticed me with a 20% discount on my next order. I’d compare them to a crack dealer, but I doubt crack dealers offer discounts. So, my latest additions to that collection of pretty arrived yesterday. I love, love, LOVE the tonal Pearl Bracelets. Maybe even more than the originals. I will definitely be buying additional yardage of several of these.

Pearl Bracelets Tonals Fat Quarter Bundle

Pearl Bracelets Tonals Fat Quarter Bundle

FQS has several of the originals on sale. Yay! (They were running out fast, though, so hurry your buns up if you wanna’ snag some for yourself.) I was also hoping for more of the gold color I used in a quilt I blogged about here, but they are out. Boooo.

The original Pearl Bracelets in green and kelly green.

The original Pearl Bracelets in green and kelly green.

I am a tiny bit disappointed with two of these last three selections. Based on photographs I’ve seen, I expected the blues in the Innocent Charm and Feathered Coral prints to be more saturated. They are still beautiful fabrics and I will have no trouble using them, they just don’t live up to my expectations of the color. Not so with the Sea Foam. Exactly what I thought it would be–gorgeous!

Chic Flora Innocent Charm in acai, Drift Sea Foam in blue, and Drift Feathered Coral in night.

Chic Flora Innocent Charm in acai, Drift Sea Foam in blue, and Drift Feathered Coral in night.

I don’t blame FQS for this. Every photo I’ve seen of these fabrics–from a variety of sources–had given me the same impression. And it isn’t the first time I’ve experienced this kind of minor disappointment. It just reinforces the fact that, as someone who prefers saturated color, I really need to see the fabric in person at least once before I buy online. I’m lucky that this area has so many good fabric stores so that I get to choose between the convenience of shopping online and the experience of seeing/touching in a brick-and-mortar shop. I know some of you don’t have that luxury.

However you buy your fabric, I hope you love it or can at least find a good way to use it. šŸ™‚

Linking up to Sunday Stash, hosted this week by Quilts From the Attic.molli_sparkles_sunday_stash_button

4 thoughts on “Collecting Pretty

  1. A lot of people seem to be buying those Pearl Bracelets this week. I like those blues, and would certainly find a use for them too. It is difficult ordering online – that’s why I only do it when I need a large piece of material and I’m pretty certain what it’s going to look like.

    • Yes, I keep telling myself to establish & follow that same kind of guideline, and then I just get carried away, clicking on all the beautiful things! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

