Mission Status

So, that goal of controlling my scraps by making blocks for Soy Amado? It’s going well. Mostly. I am really pleased with the blocks I’ve made, but my scrap pile doesn’t seem to be getting smaller very fast.

Ah, well. Such is life. Focus on the important things, right? Which in this case are 1) making stuff for kids who have almost nothing, 2) use up scraps, and 3) have fun! And with each of those, I am succeeding. Also, one awesome thing I hadn’t considered at the outset is that this is allowing me to use up scrap batting and bits of thread that weren’t sufficient for a larger project. Use of the batting in particular is freeing up a lot of space on my batting shelf (a.k.a. leaning tower of fluff). So here are update photos since my last post:

The sock monkey blocks are done!

The sock monkey blocks are done!

006 008 010A few one-of-a-kind blocks are also fully complete.

Using these as an opportunity to practice my FMQ technique (by far my weakest quilting skill).

I’m also using these as an opportunity to practice my FMQ technique (by far my weakest quilting skill).

I've been trying to include some blocks that will appeal to older kids as well as the young ones.

Trying to include some blocks that will appeal to older kids as well as the young ones.

I’ve got a bunch more blocks that are ready to be layered and quilted. Here is the next batch–again aimed at older boys. In looking through the Soy Amado quilts that have been completed thus far (20 of them!), most read “girl” to my eyes. I wanted to help balance things out a bit. Plus, I’ve got some cool stuff that works perfectly thanks to a couple of wedding quilts I’ve made. (That’s where all the animal prints you see below came from–one of my girlfriends is a huge fan of them.)

The next set of three in line for layering and quilting.

The next set of three in line for layering and quilting.

Linking up with Lee at Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday.WIP Wednesday

6 thoughts on “Mission Status

    • This part is super easy. I don’t know about the part where you stitch all the quilted blocks together. I’ve never tried it. Then again, I only learned of QAYG within the last six months or so. 😀

Leave a Reply

