On A Mission

When I cleaned up my sewing room & fabric stash several weeks ago, I realized that my scrap pile was at least twice the size of the container it’s supposed to live in. Meanwhile, I’d been following Little Island Quilting for some time, and decided that I could gain control over my scraps by making blocks for the Soy Amado endeavor.

Because the requested block size for Soy Amado is large (at least compared to my previous projects) I foolishly thought that I would whiz through loads of scraps with just a few block sets. Whoops. These are ready to be mailed:

I don't generally go for hearts myself, but these fabrics and the project theme seemed to require it.

I don’t generally go for hearts myself, but these fabrics and the project theme seemed to require it.

Since the first set was so very girly, I wanted to make one that was very NOT girly.

Since the first set was so very girly, I wanted to make one that was very NOT girly.

These just need a bit more quilting and to be squared up:

The small blocks were left-overs from a baby quilt I made about five years ago. Re-visiting old work is interesting: I could match those seams so much better today!

The small blocks were left-overs from a baby quilt I made about five years ago. Re-visiting old work is interesting: I could match those seams so much better today!

I’ve also made five wonky log cabin blocks with sock monkey portraits at the center which still need to be sandwiched and quilted, and my scrap pile(s!) still looks like this:

Not too long ago all of my scraps fit in a 15 x 13 x 7 inch bin.

Not too long ago all of my scraps fit in a 15 x 13 x 7 inch bin.

So my mission is to make and contribute enough blocks to Soy Amado that my scraps fit back into that clear plastic bin you can just barely see there on the right. It will take me longer than I’d hoped, but Little Island Quilting is taking a break this month, so I’ve got time.  🙂

Leave a Reply

