Celebrate

Oh, yeah. Do a happy dance. I finished the quilt top. 2014 Radiant Orchid Pantone Quilt Challenge, I give you “Rainy Day Garden.” Current size is 73 x 65 inches.

004

Having started this little journey, I’ve realized that in addition to learning how to create & maintain a blog, I really should also work to improve my quilt photography skills. To that end, the first thing I did was take the flimsy outside. Good thing it isn’t raining today. The second thing I did was borrow Husband’s camera. His is MUCH nicer than mine. Next on the agenda will be to make better use of said camera, but there’s only so much a girl can do/learn at once, right? Anyway, since I was playing, here are a couple more shots of the top:

505 508I may even have managed to successfully link up to the Challenge.

orchidbutton1

28 thoughts on “Celebrate

  1. oh this one is lovely! I am so partial to purple and grey though. But I love the color placement, size and shape of the dresdens and the way they seem to stand like flowers in a garden. Very nice!

    • Thanks, Katie! It’s a lot, isn’t it? But it feels so worth it. I get so excited each time I’m able to sit down and see what’s waiting for me. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Beautiful quilt top – I really love the gray background and good for you on going so big. When I started my blog it was because I was working on developing some blog software and needed to see how wordpress worked. 2 years later, I still use it (if not as often as I want – this is not a software issue, it’s a user issue). I am not a writer or editor, which is very clear when you read my posts, but I love having a record of the stuff I’ve done. It’s like a personal journal with pictures and snarky commentary from friends and family. And then every once and a while some post from way back gets a lot of hits and you remember that the rest of the world is there, too. In short, it’s pretty awesome.

    • Thank you! And thanks for offering up your perspective/experience with blogging. I have a lot to learn about it an how/how much to fit it into my life, so it’s nice to know that it can be such a great experience even if it’s not a super-regular one.

  3. Congratulations on successfully linking up. πŸ˜‰ Your quilt top is beautiful! I love the way you used the dresden shape but in a very unconventional way. It’s a modern re-interpretation of flowers, and it’s gorgeous! As an aside, I also love that beautiful pink flowering tree in the background of one of your images. What a view!

    As for blogging (not that you asked for advice, but here it is anyway! πŸ˜‰ – Consistency and scheduling are key for me. If I know I’m going to have posts going up on MWF (or whatever frequency you would like), I can schedule around that. I also tend to write posts a day or two in advance and schedule them to post so that I’m not left scrambling to put something together they day I want to post.

    • Thank you, Anne! I can’t avoid the temptation here to act like a fan and say that you are on the short list of people who really inspired me to join the online quilt community. I am still so very much in love with your “Dragon Quilt of Doomity-Doom-Doom-Doom.” Once I realized who it was for I understood why you were inspired to make something so sweet and so awesome–being an Auntie is the coolest, right? πŸ™‚

  4. I really love this quilt top – all those purples against that dark grey background really pop! Your photos are lovely too – outside (as long as you’re not in direct sunlight) is always best. I’m totally with Anne ]on blogging – I do the same things (and actually, when I’m really organised, I write all my blog posts the weekend before they go up…!).

Leave a Reply

